I was reminded recently that we all start at zero. The reminder came to me at the perfect time, as things pretty much always do – right when I was starting to wind up into my usual preoccupation with needing to feel like an expert in the field before getting on with the work that I felt drawn to do.

Hearing we all start at zero (thank you Chris Fox) encouraged me to believe that what I knew just might be enough to begin with. And I really wanted to write! So I began – in the middle of feeling like a novice with little clue about the correct direction to move in, which was a fantastic experience! And what is correct anyway?

What a surprise when I realised that in the course of actually doing the work I wanted to do, I sensed a growing awareness that I knew what I needed to know. I was expert enough in being exactly who I was and doing things in exactly the way I did them, which was completely right for me. And it’s completely right for YOU, too.

Begin. In doing so, you send yourself the only permission you need to receive in order to get on with the job.

It was wonderful to discover that my knowledge base was much larger than perhaps I might have thought it was. I took it as a lovely big push to dive deeper. There was a point at which I had watched so many YouTube video tutorials, read so many blog how-to lists, and listened to so many podcasts on my chosen subject that I realised I had my own opinion on the content and advice I was ravenously consuming. Even more wonderful was when I realised that my opinion was unique – and really important to me. Furthermore (and with a rebelious glow) I understood once and for all that I don’t have to agree with all of those other opinions.

There was strength in that. And then I knew that I was already the thing I wanted permission to be.

4 thoughts on “Starting at the beginning

Leave a Reply

